Soft Power

A three-piece instrumental outfit from Melbourne, Soft Power blurs the line between jazz and rock music, resulting in bittersweet guitar melodies, slow moving harmonic landscapes and a meditative live show that flows from groove orientated pop tunes to epic post-rock crescendos.

Since forming in 2016 by Matthew Roche – Soft Power began as an outlet for Roche to pen songs that not just paid homage to the jazz royalty and guitar pop music of his childhood, but also reflected personal stories of vulnerability and self-growth inspired by a Zen style silence meditation retreat deep in the Victorian hinterlands. Following a successful launch in early 2017 with their debut album ‘A Breath Is Like a Swinging Door’ and joined by new band mates Oscar Neyland and Chris Cameron (from the Rookies, Acolyte respectively) the Melbourne based trio are a regular fixture on the jazz and improvised music scene and return to launch their new album ‘Easy Listening’.

Recorded by Myles Mumford at Rolling Stock Recording Rooms and mastered by Adam Dempsey at Jack The Bear’s Deluxe Mastering, ‘Easy Listening’ is an improvised soundtrack to transcend the minutiae of daily life. With just seven songs we arrive at a broad yet idiosyncratic terrain, showcasing the rich camaraderie between members Matthew Roche (electric guitar), Oscar Neyland (double bass) and Chris Cameron (drums).

Featuring the single ‘Getting Out of the Way of Yourself’ and ‘It’s Cool To Be Kind – Soft Power’s new album positions themselves as a group that is comfortable on the precipice of jazz and rock music. With a busy second half of 2018 coming up, they are already booked to play an extensive 7 date tour this August with highlights including a tour launch party at The Toff In Town in Melbourne and an album launch in Sydney at the Golden Age Cinema & Bar – Soft Power are quietly spreading an accessible and poignant message that balances technical finesse with intimate and emotionally charged musical statements.

“Easy Listening, the sprawling new album from Melbourne 3-piece Soft Power, melds jazz, prog-rock, and psych to deliver something truly mesmerizing.” – HAPPY MAG

Photo by Rhea Caldwell (2018)


Fri 20/7. Wesley Anne – Melbourne, Northcote 6pm
Fri 3/8. Wesley Anne – Melbourne, Northcote 6pm
Fri 10/8. The Edinburgh Castle – Melbourne, Brunswick 6pm
Tues 14/8. The Toff in Town – Melbourne, CBD 10pm
Fri 17/8. Halfback Books & Records – Sydney, Dee Why 7pm
Sat 18/8. Golden Age Cinema & Bar – Sydney, Surrey Hills 10pm
Sunday 19/8. Gasoline Pony – Sydney, Marrickville 3pm

Soft Power - Easy Listening (Newmarket Music 2018)
Soft Power – Easy Listening (Newmarket Music 2018)

Track listing:

  1. Best Foot Forward (8:24)
  2. Getting Out of the Way of Yourself (5:39)
  3. Go Slow (4:55)
  4. It’s Cool To Be Kind (6:56)
  5. Mind is a Pyre (8:05)
  6. Not Yet (8:37)
  7. The Path of Glaciers (6:33)






Matthew Roche – Manager
Mobile: (61) 0435 265 756